Building a Linux-based HTPC Part 3

Continued from part 2

Assembling the P7H57D-M EVO with the SilverStone LC17

First question – do I need a fan installed in front of the disk drives? This is an option, so for now I am not installing a fan. I should have one on hand just in case.

The Asus documentation says that I need to use DVI-D cable for the BIOS. The VGA cannot be used.

First step – remove the center brace.

How to install the SeaSonic power supply

The box was impressive to open. The PSU came in a black cloth drawn-string bag. The cables came in their own carry-along – with velcro straps.

The power supply installed in the case. The documentation said the fan should face the motherboard, but some chassis don’t allow this. The LC17 is one of those – the fan faces out.

How to install the ASUS Q-Shield into the Silverstone LC17

The Asus Q-shield must be snapped into place before the motherboard is fastened to the chassis.

How to install the ASUS P7H57D-M EVO Motherboard

I put Threadlocker fluid on the threads for the stand-off posts that came with the LC17. I tightened the posts with a small Crescent wrench. If I have to remove the motherboard, I didn’t want the the posts to loosen.

Make sure the pins under the the Q connector are straight.

How to install the chassis fans with 3-pin and 4-pin connectors.

There are two connectors for chassis fans. One is 4 pin, and one is 3-pin. The chassis fans only has 3-pin connectors. So I connected the other chassis fan to the 4-pin connector as suggested. I suppose I could get a 4-pin. variable speed fan, and replace one of the chassis fans. This way, the system can control the speed of the fan.

How to install the Firewire 1394 connector onto the  P7H57D-M EVO

This installed with no problem.

Installing the Audio card.

The LC17 front port has an audio connector with two headers, I picked the one I wanted, and plugged it into the audio connector. I do have to set the BIOS to the proper audio controller.

The Asus P7H57D-M EVO Motherboard has 8-pin ports for the USB, but the LC17 had 4+1 pins.

Here’s how to handle this issue. Just make sure the red wire is closest to the back panel, and the 4-pin plug is closest to the back. The unused connector is closest to the front panel.

The front panel has 4 USB ports. So that’s USB7/8 and USB9/10.  I need the 4-port USB panel for the back panel for USB11/12 and USB 13/14. As these are the 10-pin (one unused) standard, they installed easily.

I’m not sure why Asus included a 2-port USB panel with an eSATA port. I don;t see any place to plug in the  extra eSATA connector.

Attaching the SeaSonic X650W Power Supply to the Asus P7H57D-M EVO

For my first PC, this is complex. There are some how-tos that help a little.

The EATX12V connector on the Asus motherboard has 4 of the pins covered by a cap. The solution is to remove the cap and use a 8-pin CPU connector.

I  connected the 24-pin EATXPWR to the 20-pin PSU connector in the lower right of the panel. The other 10-pin connector plugs in the upper left, right above the 20-pin.

Installing the 5″ optical bay

Make sure the blue wires from the front panel (USB) are underneath, and around, so the wires can be dressed nicely. The 24-pin EATXPWX connector makes this a little tight, as the wires press up against the bay.

I installed the SATA cables before I installed the 3.5″ disk drive bay.

CPU Installation

The Asus documentation stresses how imnportant you push in the fan pins on a diagonal. Then push them in on the other diagonal.

Do not turn the plastic pegs. This is only done when you wish to remove the fan.

What should I worry about concerning the SATA2 vs SATA3 connectors.

I have to make sure I use the SATA2 ports for my Linux system, instead of the SATA3. So I am limited to 4 SATA drives until Linux catches up in technology.

Dressing the wires/cables

The Silverstone comes with an EMI ring that the front panel wires go though. These wires are blue. It also helps keep the wires neat.

The other wires i dressed in two sections. The power cables were dressed in one bundle. I fastened them to the middle chassis brace with a Velcro strap. The data cables were dressed in another bundle. It’s always a good idea to have power cables and data cables separate.

Boot issues

Here is some help.

The CPU and cooler come with thermal paste, but it’s a good idea to check instructions if you want to re-apply Arctic Paste.

I booted up without any memory. The green poweron led was lit as soon as I flicked on the PSU. When I pressed the Power switch on the front panel, a red LED near the CPU blinked, and then the fan started to spin. Then this repeated  again.

BIOS

I have to make sure I select the right Audio option. There are two audio plugs from the front panel. I choose the AA97 because I think the older standard will work better with Linux. I also have to set the BIOS the same way.

I’m not using a RAID setup.

Next step – Linux

This entry was posted in Linux, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Building a Linux-based HTPC Part 3

  1. Pingback: Building a Linux-based HTPC Part 2 « The Grymoire Blog

Leave a Reply

