Setting up your Linux environment to support multiple versions of Java

Four ways to change your version of Java

Most people just define their JAVA_HOME variable, and rarely change it. If you do want to change it, or perhaps switch between different versions, you have some choices:

  1.  Use update-alternatives (Debian systems)
  2. Define/change your preferred version of Java in your ~/.bash_profile and log out, and re-login to make the change.
  3. Define/change your preferred version of Java in your ~/.bashrc file, and open a new terminal window to make the change.
  4. Define your preferred version of Java on the command line, and switch back and forth with simple commands.

When I use java, I often have to switch between different versions. I may need to do this for compatibility reasons, testing reasons, etc. I may want to switch between OpenJDK, and Oracle Java. Perhaps I have some programs that only work with particular versions of Java.  I prefer doing this using method #3 – on the command line.But by using the scripts below, you can use any of the three methods and control your Java version explicitly.

As I mention in example 1, You could, with some versions of Linux, use the command

sudo update-alternatives --config java

Debian systems use the update-alternatives to change the file system and relink some symbolic links to change what command “java” executes.  I’ll show you a way to get full control using the command line which makes no changes to the file system, allowing you to simultaneously run different versions of Java using just the command line.

Downloading multiple versions of Java

Let’s assume I’ve just downloaded Oracle jdk7u71  for a 64-bit machine into  tar file.  Assume I’ve already created the directory /opt/java. I unpack it using

md5sum ~/Downloads/jdk-7u71-linux-x64.tar.gz 
# Now verify the file integrity by eyeball
cd /opt/java
tar xfz ~/Downloads/jdk-7u71-linux-x64.tar.gz

So now I have the directory /opt/java/jdk1.7.0_71

Let me also download JDK8u25 as well, and store it in /opt/java/jdk1.8.0_25

To make things easier, I’m going to create the symbolic link latest – which will be my “favorite” or preferred version of java in the /opt/java directory.

cd /opt/java
ln -s jdk1.7.0_71 latest

Creating the Java Setup script

Now I am going to create a file called ~/bin/SetupJava which contains the following

#!/bin/echo sourceThisFile
# Bruce Barnett - Thu Nov 20 09:37:45 EST 2014
# This script sets up the java environment for Unix/Linux systems
# Usage (Bash):
# . ~/bin/SetupJava
# Results:
# Modified environment variables JAVA_HOME, PATH, and MANPATH
#
# If this file is saved as ~/bin/SetupJava, 
# then add this line to ~/.bashrc or ~/.bash_profile
# . ~/bin/SetupJava
#

JHOME=/opt/java/${VERSION:=latest}
# In case VERSION is a full path name, I delete everything 
# up to the '//'
JHOME=$(echo $JHOME | sed 's:^.*//:/:' )


# This next line is optional - 
it will abort if JAVA_HOME already exists
[ "$JAVA_HOME" ] && { echo JAVA_HOME defined - Abort ; exit 1; }

# Place the new directories first in the searchpath 
#  - in case they already exist
# also in case the above line is commented out
#
JAVA_HOME="${JHOME}/bin/java"
PATH="${JHOME}/bin:$PATH"
MANPATH=":${JHOME}/man:$MANPATH"
export JAVA_HOME PATH MANPATH

There is a lot of things going on here, but first – let’s explain the simplest way to use it: Simply add the following line to your ~/.bashrc  or ~/.bash_profile file:

. ~/bin/SetupJava

And you are done.

BUT we can do much more. First of all, note that this sets up your environment to use the “latest” version of Java, which is defined to be /opt/java/latest. But what if you don’t want to use that version? Note that I use the shell feature:

${variable:=defaultValue}

If the variable VERSION is not defined, the shell script uses the value “latest“. If you want to use a particular version of java, add a new line before you source the file:

VERSION=jdk1.7.0_71
. ~/bin/SetupJava

If you rather use version 8, then this could be changed to

#VERSION=jdk1.7.0_71
VERSION=jdk1.8.0_25
. ~/bin/SetupJava

Note that you can have several different versions in your ~/.bashrc file, and have all but one commented out. Then, you can open a new terminal window and this window will use a different version of java. But what if you don’t want to exit the existing  window?

Switching between java versions on the command line.

But there is another approach that I like to use. I have created several different shell files. Here’s one called JAVA

!/bin/sh
VERSION=latest
. ~/bin/SetupJava
exec "${@:-bash}"

Here is another shell script called JAVA7u71 which explicitly executes Java version 7u71

#!/bin/sh
VERSION=jdk1.7.0_71
. ~/bin/SetupJava
exec "${@:-bash}"

Here is one called JAVA8u25

#!/bin/sh
VERSION=jdk1.7.0_71
. ~/bin/SetupJava
exec "${@:-bash}"

Here is one that executes the OpenJDK version of Java

#!/bin/sh
VERSION=/usr/local/java/jdk1.7.0_67
. ~/bin/SetupJava
exec "${@:-bash}"

Note that I specified a version of java that was not in /opt/java – This is why I used the sed command

sed 's:^.*//:/:'

This deletes everything from the beginning of the line to the double ‘//’ changing /opt/java//usr/local/java/jdk1.7.0_67 to /usr/local/java/jdk1.7.0_67

Using the above commands to dynamically switch Java versions

You are probably wondering why I created these scripts, and what exactly does the following line do?

exec "${@:-bash}"

Please note the script,  by default, executes the command “exec bash” at the end.  That is, the script executes an interactive shell instead of terminating. So my shell prompt is really a continuation of the  script, which is still running. I also places double quotation marks around the variable in case the argument contains spaces, etc.

There are two ways to use these scripts. The first way simply temporarily changes your environment to use a specific version of Java. In the dialog below I execute OpenJDK, Oracle Java 7, and Oracle Java 8,  in that order and type “java -version” each time to verify that all is working properly. I then press Control-D (end-of-file) to terminate the JAVA script, and to return to my normal environment.  The shell prints “exit” when I press Control-D.  So I execute three different shell sessions, type the same command in each one, and then terminate the script: (the $ is the shell prompt)

$ OPENJAVA
$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_67"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_67-b01)
Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 24.65-b04, mixed mode)
$ exit
$ JAVA7u71
$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_71"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_71-b14)
Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 24.71-b01, mixed mode)
$ exit
$ JAVA8u25
$ java -version
java version "1.8.0_25"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_25-b17)
Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 25.25-b02, mixed mode)
$ exit

In other words, when I execute  OPENJDK, JAVA7u71, JAVA8u25 – I temporarily change my environment to use that particular version of Java. This change remains as long as that current session is running.  Since the script only really changes your environment variables, these changes are inherited for all new shell processes. Any time and child process executes a Java program, it will use the specific version of Java I specified.

If I want to, I can start up a specific version of Java and then launch several terminals and sessions in that environment

$ JAVA7u71
$ emacs &
$ gnome-terminal &
$ gnome-terminal &
$ ^D

However, there is one more useful tip. My script has the command

exec "${@:-bash}"

This by default executes bash. If, however, I wanted to execute just one program instead of bash, I could. I just preface the command with the version of Java I want to run:

$ OPENJAVA java -version
$ JAVA7u71 java -version 
$ JAVA8u25 java -version

I can execute specific java programs and testing them with different versions of Java this way.  I can also use this in shell scripts.

$!/bin/sh 
JAVA java program1
OPENJDK program2

And if program2 is a shell script that executes some java programs, they will use the OpenJDK version.

Using bash tab completion to select which Java version

Also note that you can use tab completion, and if you have 5 different versions of Java 7, in scripts called JAVA7u71, JAVA7u67, JAVA7u72, etc. you could type

$ JAVA7<tab>

Press <tab> twice and the shell would show you which versions of Java 7 are available (assuming you created the matching script.

The one thing that dynamic switching does not let you do is to save “transient” information like shell history, shell variables, etc. You need another approach to handle that.

Hope you find this useful!

This entry was posted in Linux, Shell Scripting, System Administration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Setting up your Linux environment to support multiple versions of Java

  1. tseeling says:

    If you use $@ instead of $* then I suggest you also increase security by quoting it correctly – this is the great benefit of $@ over $*.
    Even if you think you don’t need it in your environment it’s a good habit to *always* use correct quotes around unknown user input.
    bash then surrounds the full user input with appropriate quotation to keep arguments together.
    Imagine a commandline like
    some_cmd “arg 1 with spaces” “arg 2 with spaces” “arg3_with_no_spaces”.
    Using $* or $@ destroys the context, while “$@” keeps it grouped together.

    • grymoire says:

      Good point. I made the changes you suggested. I didn’t use this in my original version because I am the only one providing arguments to my scripts, so it was not a problem.

  2. Pingback: Ubuntu:Switiching Java version per session – Ubuntu Linux Questions

  3. nickjpost says:

    Hi there, I can’t seem to figure out how you got the different scripts to switch between java versions dynamically as you described. Are the separate scripts? Were they placed in .bashrc?

    • grymoire says:

      I do not define any java by default in my .bashrc.
      Instead, I have a separate script to set up the environment I want, so that I can have multiple terminal windows with different versions of java.

Leave a Reply

